The Dairy Goat Society of Australia

The Dairy Goat Society of Australia (DGSA) was formed in 1935 and is dedicated to the breeding and promotion of pedigreed dairy goats. Its main objectives are:

  • fostering the breeding of pedigree dairy goats
  • promotion of dairy goats and their products
  • maintenance of a stud registration system
  • provision of services to its members


Dairy goat breeds

In Australia there are currently six breeds of dairy goat:

  • Saanen
  • Toggenburg
  • British Alpine
  • Anglo Nubian
  • Australian Melaan
  • Australian Brown

Each breed has its own special characteristics and personality traits. They are also suited to different climates and environments, so different breeds will thrive in different parts of Australia.

Keeping dairy goats is a very rewarding experience and your goats will repay you with milk and plenty of affection and enjoyment.